Helio Alves de Castro Neves

On Sunday, the Demaras Racing crew was ready. Not for competition. There’s no racing in Ontario. No…we were ready for TV. The Greatest Spectacle in Racing did not disappoint!

The cover art on the Indianapolis 500 program guide foreshadowed the event. A painting by retired racer and three-time Indy 500 winner Johnny Rutherford showed the winning cars of AJ Foyt (’61, ’64, ’67, ’77), Al Unser (’70, ’71, ’78, ’87) and Rick Mears (’79, ’84, ’88, ’91). These are the only men to have won Indy four times.

With his win on Sunday, Helio Castroneves has now joined one of the most exclusive clubs in racing history as a four time Indianapolis 500 winner.

And to think, when Daniel Demaras met him at Mosport a few seasons ago, he was only a three-time winner, but already a legend.

Leave a Reply