Daniel Demaras has been a guest writer for Canadian Karting News (CKN) since 2018, writing about his start in club racing, his R2ENDALZ charity race at K1 Speed and more recently press releases for New Speed Motorsports. This weekend Demaras had his first win in a big provincial series at KartStars Canada round 1, and even made it to Canadian Karting News!

Thanks to Cody Schindel for the mention. Excerpt below, complete article here.

In Briggs Masters competition it was a two-kart breakaway in the Final as Eli Yanko (TonyKart) and Steven MacVoy (Ricciardo Kart) built up an early lead and cruised until the late stages of the race.

With two laps to, MacVoy slipped up the inside in corner one. Contact between the two sent Yanko wide and into the run-off, falling back to fourth while MacVoy remained in second as Daniel Demaras (Intrepid Kart) slid up the inside of both.

MacVoy put the pressure on Demaras as the final lap began but Ben Morgan (Ricciardo Kart) was also in the mix. When MacVoy pulled wide to get a better run in corner five, Morgan pounced at the opportunity and gained the position.

Demaras just had to hold on for the final few corners and he did so, even as Morgan made a strong run up the hill before the finish line, crossing only 0.065 seconds adrift of the winner.

Settling for third was MacVoy, while Yanko and Levon Beaudin (BirelART) were fourth and fifth.

PHOTO: Cody Schindel

KartStars Canada Round 1 Briggs Masters Final Results

  1. Daniel Demaras
  2. Ben Morgan
  3. Steven MacVoy
  4. Eli Yanko
  5. Levon Beaudin
  6. Steven Chan
  7. Bruno Polo
  8. Tony Cossetti
  9. Matt Cameron
  10. Andrew Grinyer
  11. Chris Lemme
  12. Peter Courteau
  13. Pier Paolo Petrucci
  14. Sam Demarco

Leave a Reply