Video Evidence

On September 9th, Daniel Demaras was given a 1 spot penalty for contact with another driver, championship leader Ivan Kosar, during round 8 of the Goodwood CRKC Championship.

Demaras denied any wrongdoing. “The corner was mine. I had the inside line, and took the apex. Ivan turned in on me at the hairpin and slammed his kart into mine.”.

It is generally accepted that an attacking driver must be at least halfway alongside a defending driver when they reach the apex, to have a reasonable claim to this piece of track. In this diagram below, the attacker is definitely more than halfway past the defender at the apex. The attacker has the right to the racing line. A collision at the apex is entirely the fault of the defender.attack.png

In the diagram below, the attacker has only their front wing alongside the defender’s rear wheel. The defender has the right to the racing line. A collision at the apex is entirely the fault of the attacker.

less-than

Based on these rules of racing, the hairpin was Daniel’s corner. He had the right to the apex. In the video below, Kosar can be seen spinning the 2nd place qualifier early in the race, for which he was penalized, then later slamming into the side of Demaras’ kart … for which Daniel was penalized!

Now that Daniel has found video evidence to support his position, he intends to protest the results of the race during a meeting with the track marshal before Race 9 this Friday.

The full, unedited race can be seen below.

 

.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s